Do You Mean ‘Love’?

Darrin Atkins
2 min readNov 18, 2023

A short text typo goes a long way

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Although I didn’t realize it when it happened, one time I replied to a post with the comment, “Good work on this?"

I didn’t mean to add the question mark. What I meant to type was, “Good work on this!"

The two comments are completely different, of course. If you assume that nobody ever makes typographical errors when they type or send texts, then it becomes quite concerning.

This was not even an auto-complete mistake where the device types what it thinks it might want to say. Nothing like that. It was me typing too fast

Now the other party could have sent me a direct message about it and I would have fixed it in a hurry. They did not

A week goes by and they reply to the message string. I read it and then see my reply. Without hesitation, I edited out the question mark.

“Slow down," I said to myself. “And don’t let this happen again.

Photo by Pradamas Gifarry on Unsplash

The other day, I saw a recipe that looked delicious and of course I felt compelled to add a comment.

--

--

Darrin Atkins

Medium writer and content producer. Tips and ideas for writing success. Suggestions for you to make more money this year. Ways to get inspired to write more now