How To Discover The Truth In Your False Positives

Darrin Atkins
3 min readFeb 18, 2024

Some mysteries are really worth solving on your writing journey

Photo by Drea Castelo on Unsplash

The other day I had to think about taking a test. I won’t go into the details, other than to say it was something personal.

Before I even purchased it or looked up the details, a person gave me some advice.

“You need to be careful because you’ll probably get a false positive," she said, and then provided the reasons why.

Well, that sentence of hers made me ponder the nature of the universe and the point of doing anything at all.

What is a false positive? My personal understanding is that you get a test result that says something but in reality that result is not accurate. You can also have false negatives too, but that’s a story for another day.

This experience of mine regarding the chances of false positives got me thinking. For example, there are moments in my life when I feel something is going to happen, or should happen, and then it doesn’t occur and so I have to wonder why.

Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

False Positives In Writing

--

--

Darrin Atkins

Medium writer and content producer. Tips and ideas for writing success. Suggestions for you to make more money this year. Ways to get inspired to write more now