I’m Not Going To Worry And Stay Up All Night Long

Darrin Atkins
3 min readApr 15, 2024

Okay, maybe I will for a while at least, until I have some good ideas for the future

Photo by Ricky Turner on Unsplash

Lately, I’ve just been getting this feeling like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop. It’s not intentional, of course, but I can’t shake it and, well, I keep thinking about it. It’s a bad habit.

Maybe I worry too much. It’s true that I do, and so because of that I’m extra careful and cautious, always thinking about how to be prepared for this or that bad scenario.

We went out to our favorite little restaurant today, one with good employees and great delicious food that filled us up well. The parking lot was full and the customers were plenty, and then you know that they don’t have enough staffing and I could tell that the workers were tired.

I get thirsty a lot so I had to ask for water a few times, and then I had to go to the counter for a refill, but it honestly didn’t bother me one bit because I was just happy that the place wasn’t closed down and out of business like, you know, what has happened elsewhere.

The check came to seventy dollars and, goodness gracious, we only go out on special occasions so I try not to dwell on the receipt. I try not to. Seventy dollars is almost a hundred in my book.

--

--

Darrin Atkins

Medium writer and content producer. Tips and ideas for writing success. Suggestions for you to make more money this year. Ways to get inspired to write more now