Money Matters A Lot These Days And Life’s Not So Easy

Darrin Atkins
2 min readApr 7, 2024

Buckle up because things will get bumpy

Photo by Kevin Schmid on Unsplash

I’ve been thinking about money a lot these days.

No, I’m not struggling.

It’s just that money is on my mind. I think about it. I think about when new money is coming to arrive, when income is supposed to hit my bank account, and when I can expect some extra cash throughout the month.

You go to a restaurant and it is hard to believe the costs. Even if you exclude drinks and sip on ice water, the bill always creeps higher than you think is possible.

Maybe you resign yourself to looking for bargain items or lower-priced combinations, those are actually hard to find on the menu.

Regret sinks in after every trip to a restaurant or grocery store.

“Why didn’t I stay at home?"

“I could have made this better in my own kitchen."

“This isn’t worth it."

I remember the days when I was young and my parents would take us out to dinner every Friday night. Wow, the big steakhouse was fancy and the plates were hot. I remember those big steak knives and the sounds of all the people having a good time, laughing and smiling without a care in the world.

--

--

Darrin Atkins

Medium writer and content producer. Tips and ideas for writing success. Suggestions for you to make more money this year. Ways to get inspired to write more now