Things Are Not Going Well

Darrin Atkins
3 min readApr 8, 2024

I’m struggling with my weight and my dedication to regular exercise is faltering

Photo by Samuel Ramos on Unsplash

I knew that changing my lifestyle wasn’t going to be easy.

It’s not.

I knew that losing weight and keeping it off would be a challenge.

It certainly is.

What I didn’t expect is how difficult it would be to continue any success I had been having. That’s right, maintaining a regular pattern of more exercise and fewer calories requires massive amounts of discipline.

You see, recently I had a little health scare and it required a visit to the emergency room. After a series of tests, I didn’t get any clear diagnosis, other than the description of myself as being a “well-nourished" white male.

Okay, I get the hint. I’m overweight for my body height and this extra weight is probably the direct cause of my serious medical ailment. No need to sugarcoat anything, my medical professional, because I can take the hint. I need to lose weight and keep it off, no matter what.

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

Steady Progress

--

--

Darrin Atkins

Medium writer and content producer. Tips and ideas for writing success. Suggestions for you to make more money this year. Ways to get inspired to write more now